Class 95 and What I Think is its Downfall (Part 1)

Since the beginning of August 2013, this Media-crop radio station (adult contemporary) had significantly changed.

I listened for the “best mix of music”, but then I feel it’s no longer there. I am different from many other youths who always crave the very latest pop music, cause a few older music is great anyways.

In this part, the weekend special. I believe Class 95 was known for its two now-defunct specific genre weekend specials – the R&B weekend and the All Rock weekend. The latter was what I looked forward to every six weeks. I found it mostly enjoyable.

Before the change we had six weekend specials in chronology order:
1. All 80s
2. Y2K
3. R&B (previously Soul)
4. All 90s
5. All Rock (previously Soft Rock, and my favorite weekend special, ’cause of the modern and old classic rock music)
6. Number One (simply chart topping songs)
Then it cycled all over again.

And then one fine day, 1. got replaced with Flashback Weekend (1985-1995), 3., 5., and 6. got scrapped, while the Movies weekend was added.

And now, the flashback, 90s and Y2K weekend in random order, and the movies weekend playing afterwards. Then we repeat this cycle for some 4-5 weeks. I found this new pattern after a few months.

I need to get the message across to many Singaporeans as possible and I want an explanation to why these weekend specials were removed, especially the All Rock one. (I’m thinking low listenership rate, but it’s got to be more valid than this) Surprising that no one had brought this up until then, on the Class 95 Facebook page:

Someone Brought The Rock Weekend Issue Up

I thinking to bring back the R&B and All Rock weekend specials, and at least do this a few times a year, but fat chance that anyone will listen and I will be forced to leave, in order not to torture myself any longer, which I will explain later in my next part. (Update: Now it’s online)

I wonder if any other FM station in Singapore had these specific genre weekends, not counting international Internet radio.

I haven’t listened to Gold 90.5 and 98.7 (and never will for the latter, I don’t really have a taste for brand new music), but I’m thinking that they also may have gone worse.

Update: As of today, I forgot to mention the Christmas Weekend special and the New Year Weekend special (as far as I know, dance party hits only – now on). These things only play on the last two weeks of the year. Oh and don’t forget to link this post to the Class 95 Facebook page or maybe tell them why the All Rock Weekend got scrapped, or tell them to bring it back.

~ by merlion444 on December 8, 2013.

One Response to “Class 95 and What I Think is its Downfall (Part 1)”

  1. […] why I do not recommend listening to this radio station for long periods of time, and then some. The first part deals with its change in weekend specials, and why I want the All Rock weekend […]

Leave a comment